The “Next Step” Sock KAL – part one

I love the collective projects that the crafters undertake. I usually just observe (and envy ;)), because setting deadlines is a bit too scary. But sometimes I just can not resist the  temptation – I mean, how cool is that almost 50 knitters from all across the world are currently working on the same thing, while reporting to and discussing with each other!?

So, when Sarah of Crafts from the Cwtch suggested a knit-along for socks, I signed up immediately. I have been practicing quite a bit during the past months (here, here, here and there is one more pair which has not made it to blogland yet), so I guess I more or less have a hang of it. But the idea of this knitalong was to try something new, to develop the sock-knitting skills.

I decided out the yarn stash inherited from my maternal grandma. She used rather fine yarn, she loved using different colours, and was quite a tight knitter… I loved the socks and mittens she made. Unfortunately there are very few of those left, and my granny isn’t around any more to knit new pairs, so I’ll have to take care of it myself.

So here you go, my plan for the upcoming knitalong – using 1.25 needles (never used so small ones before, I hope I won’t cause too much damage on my fingers!); finer yarns; and a three-colour pattern (I can sense a huge mess of yarn ahead!). This is just a trial patch, but I’ll have plenty of time to get started in the weekend!

IMG_9192

7 thoughts on “The “Next Step” Sock KAL – part one

Leave a Reply

